• Conference: January 12th and 13th, 2018
  • Workshop: January 8th to 11th, 2018.

Conference Venue

  • Sede Claustro, Universidad del Rosario
  • Sede Norte, Universidad del Rosario

Plenary speakers

  • Colin Camerer (CalTech)
  • Charless Noussair (The University of Arizona)


Antigua is moving to Bogotá! And there is no better place to relocate than in the historic district of La Candelaria, the old town area of the modern city of Bogotá.
The Economics Department at Universidad del Rosario, with the support of IFREE, will host a new edition of the Bogotá Experimental Economics Conference on January 12th and 13th of 2018 (previously known as the Antigua Experimental Economics Conference). We aim to strengthen the ties within the Latin American experimental economics community and the rest of the world. Prior to the Conference, we will organize a workshop (January 8th to 11th, 2018) for graduate students and young scholars interested in experimental methods in the social sciences.

The Conference’s new home, Universidad del Rosario in Bogotá, is looking forward to welcoming you at the beginning of 2018.


Plenary speakers

Charles Noussair

Professor Noussair is the Eller Professor of Economics and the Director of the Economics Science Laboratory at the University of Arizona. 

Charles Noussair

Colin F. Camerer

Professor Camerer is the Robert Kirby Professor of Behavioral Finance and Economics at the California Institute of Technology.

Colin F. Camerer

Important dates

Submission deadline:
October 6th

Please send your extended abstract or a full version of your manuscript to no later than September 30th.

Notification of acceptance:
October 20th-23rd

We will inform you the decision via e-mail.

Early registration:
November 17th

Full rate: 250 USD
Discounted rate (for graduate student only): 125 USD

Late registration:
Before December 1st

Full rate: 300 USD
Discounted rate (for graduate students only): 200 USD


We will host the Bogotá Experimental Economics Workshop from January 8th to the 11th (prior to the Conference) at Universidad del Rosario. The aim of the Workshop is to provide hands-on training in experimental methods, including experimental design, programming experiments using oTree and a special emphasis on experimetrics (the econometric analysis of experimental data).

We invite graduate students (PhD and Master’s level) and junior faculty to apply for the workshop. The fee for attending the 4-day Workshop is 450 USD. This fee includes their participation as observers in the Conference, and the option to present an ongoing project or an experimental design during a poster session at the Conference. We will provide partial and full scholarships (fee waivers) to select participants.

Experimental Design Workshop sessions will be given by the Economics Faculty at Universidad del Rosario, including: Diego Aycinena, Mariana Blanco, Enrique Fatás (visiting scholar), Catalina Franco, César Mantilla, Santiago Sautúa and Lucas Rentschler.

Invited Instructors

Peter Moffatt

Professor Moffatt is the author of new book Experimetrics. He will be in charge of the Workshop sessions for the analysis of experimental econometric data.

Juan B. Cabral IATE-OAC
(Software engineer and PhD student in Computer Science)

Juan is a doctoral student in Computer Science at IATE-OAC and a founding member of the Scientific Python community in Latin America. He was part of the team that designed and developed oTree, and has experience designing over a dozen of experiments for researchers from ETH-Zurich, UC Berkeley and El Colegio de Mexico.

The workshop will also have a module on openness, transparency and replicability in experiments. It is designed to introduce to researchers practical steps they can take to make science more open and reliable, while increasing the transparency and reproducibility of their work.

How to apply:

Please send to a message with the subject “Workshop_LastName” and the following documents no later than October 6:

  • Your curriculum vitae
  • A letter of motivation explaining why you are interested in attending the Workshop (in less than 400 words)
  • In the message please list the contact e-mail address of two faculty members who are able to recommend you as a Workshop participant
  • If you are interested in the poster session, please send us an extended abstract of the research you would like to present

Practical Information

The event will take place at Universidad del Rosario in Bogotá’s historical city center. Bogotá is a modern city with historical roots that date back to the 17th century. At 2,700 meters above sea level, and surrounded by mountains on the east, Bogotá provides a nice setting… You can also find additional information about tourism in Bogotá here and here.

Participants are responsible for the cost of their transportation to, and accommodation in, Bogotá.

Getting to Bogotá

The main airport in Bogotá is El Dorado international airport. There are direct flights from Amsterdam (10h45), Boston (it lasts 6h30), Buenos Aires (6h30), Dallas (5h30), Los Angeles (7h15), Madrid (10h00), Miami (3h45), New York (6h00), Paris (11h00), Washington D.C. (5h30), among others.

Accomodations in Bogotá

We are trying to provide modest but comfortable housing for workshop participants from outside Bogotá. We will let you know very soon about the housing options.

For budget-minded travelers other options are:

Transportation within Bogotá

Transportation between the Conference’s Official Hotel and the event venue will be provided.
How do you get to Sede Claustro using public transportation?

  • Uber or Cabify: easy and safe to move around Bogotá (around 5 USD from the Conference’s Hotel area).
  • Transmilenio: to the “Museo del Oro” stop
  • Transmilenio Ligero: to the “San Victorino” stop (if you are staying close to Carrera 7)

Sede Claustro, Universidad del Rosario
in Bogotá’s historical city center

Sede Norte, Universidad del Rosario


The BEEC is organized by the Experimental Economics Research Group at Universidad del Rosario and the co-organizers of the Antigua Experimental Economics Conference. It includes Diego Aycinena, Mariana Blanco, Enrique Fatas, Catalina Franco, César Mantilla, Lucas Rentschler and Santiago Sautúa.